Welcome to the Allotments

Allotments with Dreamwalker

Me Among the Peas

Our Allotment garden is only a couple of minutes walk from where we live.  To give you the size of this plot of land it is approximately 165 ft in length by  45 ft wide…

The first crops to be planted will be Shallots, Onions, Beetroot, Early Potatoes, Carrots and Peas..  I have already sown in pots in the greenhouse ~ Sweetcorn, Runner Beans, Cabbage, Brussels, Cauliflower and Brocoli Kale, Squash, among others.. 

The only fertilizer we are using is Manure and very sparingly some Chicken Fertilizer and Grow-more … We do not use any Herbicides or pesticides preferring to plant flowers such as marigolds and others  which attract not only the bees but also put off the aphids. 

Below is an update in Picture format of what has been planted in the ground so far and how things are growing in May 2015.

Parsnips, Beetroot, Shallots and Onions..

Parsnips, Beetroot, Shallots and Onions..

2 row of early and 4 row of late potatoes .

2 row of early and 4 row of late potatoes .

 

Cabbage, Cauliflower, Kale.

Cabbage, Cauliflower, Kale. and lettuce

Runner Beans, And French Beans at the side planted

Runner Beans, And French Beans at the side planted

Blueberries in Flower

Blueberries in Flower

Raspberries, Logan Berries, Blueberries, and Redcurrent

Raspberries, Logan Berries, Blueberries, and Redcurrant

 

Gooseberry Bush

Gooseberry Bush

Sweetpea's just planted out  in the plot behind the shed . Here we will plant squash

Sweetpea’s just planted out in the plot behind the shed . Here we will plant squash

Nettle Patch behind the Sheds Nettles are full packed full of vitamins and I love Nettle tea..

Nettle Patch we leave this patch on purpose behind the Sheds Nettles are full packed full of vitamins and I love Nettle tea.. Plus the Butterflies love to lay their eggs on them .

I hope you enjoyed the first update in my new blog specially set up for the Allotment updates. 

Thank you for Reading

Sue 

32 thoughts on “Welcome to the Allotments

  1. Dear Sue,
    I absolutely love your new blog 🙂 If you could see the excitement on my face, as I looked through your garden… so happy to see the nettles (as they are really good for the occasional allergic rhinitis!). Enjoyed your kale, lettuce, cauliflower, and beets… Further motivating me to get my school notes in order and get some more of the inside housework done so I could get my Towergarden up and my flower boxes active. Right now there’s a lone Morning Glory outside our house that’s looking to be transplanted, and will soon be embracing the nearby lattice in due time. My succulents (jade and fire cacti do well here!). We just finally got some much needed rain…parsnips, shallots, and onions! ❤ ❤ ❤
    I'm looking forward to visiting your garden more, and I have decided to follow 🙂
    xo Ka

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awww thank you Ka.. Glad you got the Gardening bug Spirit.. 🙂 I thought winter would never end.. But I have all my seedlings now bursting their seed trays, just begging to be planted, But we will wait until late May, as we have been caught out before with late frosts,, and its forecast changeable weather coming in from the North next week.. So I am hanging fire on the tender plants..
      Good luck with your gardening projects.. and jade and fire cacti.. Lovely.. And I will be sharing some nettle recipes in due course :-).. But fine days will see me out in the garden and less on the PC…But I can transfer lots of recipes to start with 🙂

      Many thanks for the follow.. Big smiles.. 🙂 xxx Enjoy your weekend.. ❤ Hugs

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think because this is the first post in your new blog I accidentally went to your blog feed rather than your individual post. Looks lovely and I have stashed it in my RSS Feed Reader Ms Sue. Can’t wait to see how you go with your amazing garden that is about 3 times as big as Sanctuary 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

          • 🙂 Now that I have seen your allotment size, I have allotment envy and am eyeing up an area where I could expand Sanctuary. Not sure Stevie-boy is on board with that amount of digging (well, trying to dig in between rocks, this property is on an extinct volcano!) but whatchagonnadoeh? 😉

            Liked by 1 person

            • LOL… Yes the digging part I leave to hubby.. but I’m a mean weeder.. LOL.. as well as a good supervisor! .. 🙂 No this year I have had to help more as hubby wrenched his back a few weeks back.. so yes you got do what you got to do! 🙂 ❤

              Liked by 1 person

            • arrgh those leaves, I remember well your post of raking them.. And you have loads!!.. I still don’t know how you both have time to do all you do.. 🙂 Today its raining, and the allotments need it.. I planted pea seeds and swedes yesterday.. 🙂 and transplanted some Pea plants which were planted some weeks ago, but only a few came up in a row.. put them all in one place.. Fingers crossed that the second sewing of peas come through. Have a great week.. 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

            • I am crossing my fingers (makes it hard to type but whatchagonnadoeh? 😉 ) for you as well. They are saying that we have “El Nino” conditions here and that means a long cold dry winter with a dry spring apparently. Stevie-boy wanted to drain the 10 000 litre water tank on the veggie garden in preparation for “winter”. I am SO glad that we didn’t go with his idea (too busy)! Now, we at least have a backup if it is very dry. I haven’t tried swedes before. I do like them though 🙂

              Like

            • LOL… Yes I was listening to our long term weather forecast for our Winter which is predicting the change of jet-stream and we are set to have a harsh winter with lots of snow this year.. So I was telling hubby to make sure we had fuel stocked for the generator.. for the freezers, he laughed and said if its going to be that cold we can bury it in the snow 🙂 LOL… typical of him to joke… We like swedes mashed in potato and put in stews.. And its a good thing sometimes we have selective hearing of our other halves suggestions! 🙂 and a good thing you were ( Too Busy ) to get around to emptying the tank.. Your plants will be glad of them. x 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

            • My grandad’s parents were Scottish so we had a firm grasp on the swede vernacular. Are you talking “swede” as in the yellow veggie or as in the UK word for what we call “turnip” here? We call swedes those big yellow lumpish things that other countries call Mangels. Turnips to us are the purple on top, white on the bottom things that are a bit peppery. Either way, I love them both, and my adult daughter would eat a bag of turnips (purple ones with white on the bottom) raw she loves them that much. Might have to seriously plant some in the right season methinks 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

            • They are the foundation for the most nutritious food. They are SO good for you and when my mum visited the U.K. back last century (in the 80’s) she tried to feed her relatives in Southport swedes and pumpkin and they told her that they were cow food! I am glad to see that times have changed 😉

              Liked by 1 person

            • Ours too. Mashed swede and carrot with lots of butter, salt and pepper went with just about every roast and swede and turnip were part of all of the big pots of soup that mum always had on the boil at any given time (only hers had great big shin bones in them as well 😉 )

              Liked by 1 person

            • We also had lambs tongues and brains soaked in milk and crumbed and fried. I actually liked offal but the only thing that I couldn’t stand were kidneys…YUK!

              Liked by 1 person

  3. I love it Sue. The only vegetables I’ve been able to sprout are acocados and pineapples. I live in a condo, that’s the problem. Avocados are great but they take long to yield fruit .

    Like

Your Thoughts Are Welcome Along with any Gardening Tips

