Healing Properties of Garlic

Just some of the garlic we harvested Last year.

Healing Properties of Garlic. PhotobucketGarlic: Allium sativum

 Hot- Anitiseptic, Expectorant

Garlic is renowned worldwide for its healing properties, it was first documented in Ancient Egypt some 4,500 yrs ago being given to workers building the Pyramids to keep up their energy and ward off contagious diseases like flu and colds.  The Greek physician, Galen, called garlic ‘ The Great Panacea’

Garlic has an antiseptic action which is effective against viruses, fungi and bacteria, and it has been thoroughly researched and documented in both the East and West.  Its warming and strengthening action on the respiratory system, makes garlic extremely valuable in treating colds and flu.

In India and China, it has also been discovered the value of garlic in treating amoebic and similar types of Dysentery, killing the bacteria which  cause these diseases, Garlic can also be used against many other symptoms for instance Candida, for this action the purple skinned verity is recommended.

It works to help eliminate harmful bacteria created by digestion of food in the gut due to a slow digestion, Garlic increases circulation, warming cold limbs, lowering High blood pressure.

Note: Garlic should not be taken when there is an excess of heat or inflammation in the body, especially in the digestive system, as in Gastritis or Ulcers. 

Garlic is my kitchen basic, enhancing savoury dishes, and you will find many a recipe with garlic. Garlic especially goes well with most pulses, especially chickpeas. .

Recently in my own area where I live the University of Nottingham found that it was 90% effective in the treatment of MRSA (meticillin-resistant staphylococcus aureusis) a type of bacterial infection Superbug that is resistant to a number of widely used antibiotics.

 Scientists at England’s Nottingham University recreated a 9th Century Anglo-Saxon remedy using onion, garlic and other ingredients found in the link below..  “This 1,000 yr old recipe was recreated and was found to be effective in treating 90% of the superbug MRSA”. Link to this BBC News Item above and I have also enclosed a short video clip below of the findings.

 

17 thoughts on “Healing Properties of Garlic

  1. Garlic is usable in almost all food and I use it very much for cooking too. I didn’t know with the Superbugs, but I used it years ago after food poisening and it helped me a lot.
    ❤ Irene

    Like

  2. I know that garlic (indeed, all of the alliums) is very good for you but I eat it because it is delicious. My dad swore by eating loads of onions. We use them in just about everything as well. Where would the world be without the base flavour of onions and garlic? It would be a very boring world, tastewise, indeed. Stevie-boy came out here protesting loudly that he didn’t like garlic. I ignored him and kept using it till one day, about a year after he got here, I asked him “do you like garlic?” and he said “NO!” and I said, “well you have been eating it in copious quantities for over a year now!” and to that he said “0” (absolutely nought 😉 ). Garlic wins over another convert! There shall be NO superbugs (or vampires) on Serendipity Farm 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes were were always brought up on onions, that’s how I learnt how to string them, there was always a huge string in our outhouse when I was a child.. I remember they weighed a ton.. as they fell on me one time 🙂 when my brother and I were playing darts in there. 🙂 And funny you should say about not liking garlic.. but over the years of me using it now its missed if its not added 🙂 And all those bulbs you see there I think I have around 6 bulbs left to use up.. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I tend to use a head of garlic bulbs at a time but then, we do cook in bulk. Stevie-boys famous vat-o-soup (otherwise known as Soupdragon soup) uses 2 whole bulbs of it. Garlic is so good for you and so tasty, I couldn’t think of cooking without it. Well…maybe a cake 😉

        Liked by 1 person

          • Still working on the cake…I invented savoury breakfast pancakes yesterday. Blended up a can of chopped tomatoes, a can of coconut cream (desperation is the mother of invention 😉 ) and threw in some veggie stock powder, some pepper, some worcestershire sauce, and some Korean pepper granules and whizzed it all up in the blender. Then I poured it onto a cup of self raising flour mixed with a cup of besan (chickpea) flour and stirred it up. It smelled atrocious but that didn’t stop me. I put spoonfuls of it into a little olive oil sizzling in a fry pan and they turned out to be incredibly tasty. Steve politely tried a tiny bit of one and then ate 2 more so that tells you how tasty they were. Might have to write that one up for the blog methinks. I am sure I can add garlic to make them even better 😉

            Liked by 1 person

  3. Sometimes garlic sprouts by itself. When it does, do you recommend planting it immediately in soil, or can you keep it water for a while until you find a place to plant it? Or simply leave it alone?

    Like

    • Hi Maria, so pleased to see you here… I wouldn’t recommend keeping it in water.. Garlic germinates usually very easily and you can even plant the garlic cloves you buy which have no sprouts at all and they will easily grow.. So I would wait till you get chance to plant in soil..:-)

      Like

Your Thoughts Are Welcome Along with any Gardening Tips

