October Update

Nothing much to report, except the Manure arrived from the farm.Β 

 

This was a large trailer of Manure delivered from the farm.. Unfortunately it overspilled right over the leeks.

This was a large trailer of Manure delivered from the farm.. Unfortunately it overspilled right over the leeks.

 

Get your back into it girl

Get your back into it girl, πŸ™‚ ~ Hubby did All of the heavy work.. Β 

This is the raspberry and Blueberry patch, which was in need of weeding.

This is the raspberry and Blueberry patch, which was in need of weeding.

While Hubby moved some of the Muck I got stuck into weeding and pruning the Raspberry and Blueberries. The above is the before photo and below is the after one. Sorry to say those lovely webs were no longer visible.. But the spiders sure came out to protest.. I did say a huge sorry for taking away their homes.. but I am sure they crawled away to make new ones.Β 

 

After weeding this patch I went along two more rows and cleared out the debris

After weeding this patch I went along two more rows and cleared out the debris

Hubby walking in the distance, the frame is an old garden swing, which had the runner beans on .

Hubby walking in the distance, the frame is an old garden swing, which had the runner beans on . We hoe through about once a week to ensure the new weeds do not get a chance to take hold..Β 

Saved Runner Beans pods for seeds

Saved Runner Beans pods for seeds

Runner beans were left to dry on the plants and are saved for seeds.. we had been using saved seeds which were 5 yrs old, so it was time for new stock

Runner beans were left to dry on the plants and are saved for seeds.. we had been using saved seeds which were 5 yrs old, so it was time for new stock

Thankfully we got the pruning done and some Muck spread before the rain set in.. So today I made more tomato soup,Β recipe on my pagesΒ Β and a Ginger slab cake..This recipe is on my main blog, butΒ both recipes Β are tried and tested and delicious.Β 

Hubby did the hard work of spreading it here.. Lucky its rained after we did this, so it will get dug in really soon, We plan to put the new strawberry shoots in a bed once it's been dug in

Hubby did the hard work of spreading it here.. Lucky its rained after we did this, so it will get dug in really soon, We plan to put the new strawberry shoots in a bed once it’s been dug in. The new shoots from the Strawberries you can just see in the greenhouse..Β 

This afternoon I got out my Knitting needles again, as I bought some Aran Yarn that was a bargain the other day, I so wanted to knit another waistcoat in the same pattern as this. I made the other year. But the Wool is not as chunky as the original pattern. So I had to figure out how I needed to alter the stitches and needle sizes accordingly.. I had several false starts.. And had to unravel my efforts.. Hubby said he didn’t know how I could knit something to unravel it after doing several rows.. ( Practice and Patience ) πŸ™‚ ..Β 

Anything is Possible if we put our minds to it.Β 

Happy Gardening..

And enjoy your Harvests and Craft time.

See you All Soon!

Β 

29 thoughts on “October Update

  1. So much tiring and hard work!I’m glad you spread the manure before it started to rain!!All looks so neat after weeding the garden!The dried runner beans are nicely cooked with pork in tomato sauce.Lovely all your photos,the before and after,dear Sue!Wishing you a relaxing weekend!Hugs, Doda ❀ xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That Manure looks absolutely delicious, I can smell the goodness from here, it reminds me of the days I was a Stock man on a Dairy farm, each week I would clean out the race the cows took to the milking sheds, I had the best garden in that little country town, and it’s a beautiful aroma especially if you are lucky enough to have it rain immediately after spreading.
    Your allotment is a hive of Natures activity Sue

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You can tell a gardener when the see a bit pile of excrement and start to get excited about the possibilities ;). Excellent weeding job and those spiders needed a shake up. Can’t have them getting complacent and now their webs will be nice and fresh and sticky and ready to tackle all of the insects attracted by the delicious smell of manure. The waistcoat is seriously delicious. I am going to learn to spin this Summer as I have found a small group of determined spinners in the local neighbourhood who hopefully won’t mind helping a clueless woman learn how to spin. I have some gorgeous pure white merino wool and some lovely alpaca that I NEED to spin. Once I learn I can buy fleece and maybe give some away on my blog to my wonderful dear constant readers. I sometimes get more satisfaction from producing things (like yarn) than working with it. It has been really dry here so far this year. We were promised a long dry summer thanks to El Nino but I didn’t think it would come this far south. We are thinking of putting in more water baths for the birds and local animals. Steve called me out the other evening (early, still light) to watch a largish kangaroo who was drinking out of the chook water bowls. They rarely come anywhere near the house but this one was more thirsty than scared. We owe the animals a duty of care and don’t mind giving them water so long as they don’t eat my garden while they are here! ;). A lovely blog post full of possibilities. I love your garden blog Sue πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Lol.. Yes we are a rare breed who get excited over a pile of manure LOL that is for sure.. The waistcoat I finished last Wednesday.. took me one week πŸ™‚ on and off LOL.. It will probably take me longer to buy some buttons… but hope to go to town tomorrow and get to the shop I told you about… Seems you did right the other year too when you got yourself into that small hole into that huge water barrel :-), We are lucky here always far too much rain.. Hope your plants survive and the water gets priority over your plants..
      Yes I always put out for the hedgehogs and make sure our fence has a gap to allow them access in and out.. Plus the bird feeders are always full.. We have had 3 collared doves all summer long, and the whole family I think are being fed.. Hubby recently read in the paper that they are becoming rarer for some reason..
      We certainly have less pigeons than the other year, wonder if some fowl play is afoot, as they cull pigeons in town.. ..
      Glad you enjoyed, hope you enjoy the pictures up next..
      Love and Hugs your way Fran..
      Enjoy your week.. Love Sue ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. lovely… !! You have such a lovely plot why don’t you have cows ?? In India .. We call cows as mothers.. everything from them is so useful… their dung urine.. milk… and all we need to provide is some fodder which either we can grow our buy…. and with our cows.. we know its 100% safe.. we do not inject them with those harmful vaccines/hormones… Its my dream to own a big piece of land and have my own farm and have lots dogs and cows πŸ™‚ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    The manure looks fabulous.. what i tried hinting at in my blog article was that initially we can add the manure to the soil but later on.. Its very convenient to water the plants with AMRUTJAL or JEEVAMRUT… It fertilizes the soil immensely and saves in a lot of hardwork… Do give it a try in a small section.. πŸ™‚ awaiting your feedback πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Reema.. Our plot is a rented piece of land called an ‘Allotment’ which we rent from the local authorities. The only live stock you can keep are Hens.. And then no cockerels as homes near by often complain of the noise.. Yes I know complaining of the sound of nature. But this is modern day Britain 😦 ..
      Now if we had a plot of land much larger it would be called a ‘small holding’.. Which is land usually owned outright by the owner.. On this their could be cows, pigs, goats etc.. But our plot is far too small.. And a Cow is usually left for the farmers not individuals to own like in India..
      We also water down manure too.. Putting some in a water barrel and adding water to it.. We call this liquid feed. You can also make this out of nettles too and especially Comfrey which is potassium-rich . Which is very good.. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Your Thoughts Are Welcome Along with any Gardening Tips

