Tidying up the garden and home.

As the weeks to October drew to a close, there were certain tasks I had been promising myself.. One was to get into the allotment again to lift the Gladioli’s to allow the bulbs to dry out so I can replant them in a different position for next year.. 

Here the Gladioli patch had overgrown I weeded out as I lifted the bulbs

Here the Gladioli patch had overgrown I weeded out as I lifted the bulbs

 

Here is a reminder of how lovely they were.. They provided me with lots of pleasure in cut flowers and I was also able to give plenty away in bunches for some neighbours and family. 

A reminder of how the Gladioli's looked in bloom

A reminder of how the Gladioli’s looked in bloom

Digging up the bulbs you can see how the new corms are forming we planted the corms from last year and we have left these young Gladioli’s in the ground to mature.

 

Lifting Gladioli's

Lifting Gladioli’s

We put the Gladi’s in the greenhouse along with some new shoots taken from the strawberry plants.. We intend to make a new strawberry bed near the green house for new plants to fruit next year. 

Gladioli lifted drying out in the new greenhouse on the allotment

Gladioli lifted drying out in the new greenhouse on the allotment

Last week I finished my knitting project, a waistcoat.. Photo’s will be posted of this in due course. I need to buy some buttons and will share later with you .

Now all finished .

Now all finished .

As the weather got a lot colder and damper last week, I spied a lone large Bee, looking decidedly worse for ware.. We have an outdoor matt near the patio door, and he was walking very slowly and wobbly over it.. I went out with some diluted honey on a teaspoon, of which he/she drank thirstily from.. It’s wonderful to see their long tongue as the lap up the nectar.. Sorry about the blurred photos shot with phone while holding the spoon 

This little chap I thought was on his last legs, So lethargic he was walking on our outdoor foot mat. So I gave him some honey on a spoon.. He took a while to liven up, we placed him out of harms way, and he must have later flew off..

This little chap I thought was on his last legs, So lethargic he was walking on our outdoor foot mat. So I gave him some honey on a spoon.. He took a while to liven up, we placed him out of harms way, and he must have later flew off..

I know this image is not the clearest.. but this bee is drinking from a spoon some watered down honey

I know this image is not the clearest.. but this bee is drinking from a spoon some watered down honey

After about half an hour on the spoon, he walked off a little more steadier, but we didn’t want the birds to get him, so we placed him among some flowers the pansies, On inspection later he had gone.. So we hoped he flew off.. we wished him well with a thank you for all his hard work over Summer..

Today is a cold damp foggy day, a typical November Day, I hope you all had a wonderful All Hallowed Weekend.. We did and enjoyed seeing our Granddaughter dress up.. This was the Pumpkin she helped scoop out 

I felt in the mood for a good tidy up in the house too.. so went through the cupboards and threw out lots of things, some for the bonfire on Bonfire Night . And also filled some charity bags with unwanted items also. 

I even had time to paint some new signs for our allotments, our Plot Number  🙂 

I did a quick painting for some signs for the number on our plot

I did a quick painting ( not my best work Lol ) took me all of 20 minutes .. for some signs for the number on our plot

Well I think that is all for now, have a good week all of you, and of course 

Happy Gardening 

Love Sue 

 

33 thoughts on “Tidying up the garden and home.

  1. A lovely “tidy up and get ready for winter” post Sue. I wish it was almost winter here! The newspapers are full of farmers worried that if they don’t get some serious rain soon, Tassies veggie harvest this season is under major threat. El Nino apparently but more like global warming. We are all just going to have to get used to less water and more water wise practices. Tassie farmers have had it good for a long time. They might have to think a bit more about when they plant and what they plant. I had best buy a few big bags of spuds today and plant one out for our own spud futures! I love gladdies. If you are an Aussie and you don’t love them I think Dame Edna is allowed to hit you on the head with some ;).

    Liked by 1 person

    • No they don’t and they often do not make it back to the hive when it drops cold.. I am learning lots from an online blog about bee keeping, and they live fascinating lives in the Bee world..
      I just hope this one was not an outcast.. and the honey I gave him/her helped.. or at least gave him his last drink.. ( he had vanished from the spot I left him ) so would like to think he got back to his hive ..

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I had gladioli last year (gave them away to a colleague). I thought the baby corms had gone with them but there were new gladioli flowers in my garden this summer 🙂

    Like

  3. Good afternoon Sue, great post as I usually expect, There is always some little hint, or clue to be picked up in your gardening segments, and again I found what I wanted to know.
    Your feeding of the lost bee picture is great, that little fellow will remember you, and return to your allotment, to pay back the generosity you gave him.
    Best wishes Sue.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a delight your post is,dear Sue!Entranced by the beauty of the Gladioli and touched by your caring love for the bee!How sweet your treat to him!You perfectly nectared him and showed your gratitude for his priceless work in your garden.Lovely your knitted waistcoat!Buy the bottons and display it again as you promised.Bet you had a nice time with your little princess dressed up!I admire your “multipotentialites”,my wonderful friend!Sending you so much love & blessings 🙂 ❤ xxx

    Liked by 1 person

      • Hi Sue… I have a little garden, so when I want to go for a chill out walk I do it by my place… I live in a a quite urban city, but still the green suburbs so I works fine.. It is pretty quite…
        I live close to the river but when I want to go there I drive to arrive as it is approximately 30 or 40 squares from home…
        You are lucky to be surrounded by nature, my friend. Much love … Aquileana ☀️

        Liked by 1 person

Your Thoughts Are Welcome Along with any Gardening Tips

