Preparation for Spring

Well I thought it about time I wrote a post here.. Nothing much has been happening on the Allotments over the last few weeks, it has simple been far too wet to even dig.  Thankfully my Hubby got a lot of over winter digging done at the beginning of December, just as well, as the constant rain fall here in the UK has been unprecedented even for our Island where we never go far without our Umbrella’s .. I am ever thankful we live on a hill as my thoughts go out across the country to those places in Yorkshire and Cumbria and parts of Scotland that have been hit so hard with major flooding of thousands of Homes. 

The last day I went along to see how the allotment was progressing and to pick some Kale , Leeks and Beetroot and Red cabbage was when we had that wonderful Full Moon. So brilliant was it, that it could still be seen early in the morning in the sky over the allotment plots

Full Moon Over The Allotments

Full Moon Over The Allotments

 My Husband had been busy and had put an extra piece of wood around the green house and connected extra water barrels. 

Greenhouse fence at side

Greenhouse fence at side

Here you can see the barrels and the strawberry plant from the shoots taken from last years plants

Here you can see the barrels and the strawberry plant from the shoots taken from last years plants

Below you can see to where he has dug in the manure..  We will not manure the parts where some of our Crops are going as some root veggies do not like it.. 

Winter digging in the manure

Winter digging in the manure

Still a Large pile of manure which will last.

Still a Large pile of manure which will last.

Here you can see a row of what is left of the Brussels Sprouts ..  A row of carrots beneath the weeds and a row of beetroot in front.. 

Here is where we planted the garlic and it's coming on nicely

Here is where we planted the garlic and it’s coming on nicely. There is still a couple of Lettuce under the cloche

Leeks and Red Cabbage

Leeks and Red and more spouts

I am in the process of learning about planting with the Moon Cycles.. I had expressLunar and Biodynamic Gardening cover imageed my interest to my daughter who thoughtfully included as one of her Christmas gifts to me a book that I am finding fascinating reading,, It is called  Luna and Biodynamic Gardening by Matt Jackson.  Which can be found on line HERE  and I am in the process of planning out my garden to try to adhere to the principles of sewing and harvesting by the Moon.. This is a first for me too.. So we shall see how this experiment goes and if I can keep to it? 

 

May I just wish all of you who kindly follow this Blog a Very Happy New Year for 2016 and Beyond.. And thank you most sincerely.  

May you all be blessed and continue with your own  

Happy Gardening! 

26 thoughts on “Preparation for Spring

  1. That image over your allotment looks like a painting Sue. I wish we had some of the rain that you guys are having. We have the exact opposite. We are dry in summer, and are used to that situation but this year we got very little rain in winter or our usual wet spring and now, at the beginning of the year, we are so very dry that by the time our usual rains start at the end of April, most of the vegetation on our property will most probably be dead. I never expected that moving to Tasmania would result in the heat and arid conditions that we have had this year but at the end of the day, it’s on par with your garden dying from being rained on and drowned I guess. When we were studying horticulture the Certificate 2 lecturer was a serious moon devotee. She only planted by the moon and swore by the practice. Her garden was absolutely beautiful so there is most probably a good degree of truth to it. I hope your rain stops soon (and comes over here!) 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes it was a rare beautiful morning and a great Sunrise too.. Yes everywhere is so water logged at the moment, even our drive way is flooded in parts as the ground is so saturated now..
      I am happy to learn the Moon gardening was a success story.. Hope I can do it justice xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Sue. That full moon was so incredible. What a great photo! Your allotment is doing so well considering the poor weather conditions. My dad is very disappointed in his Brussels which are tiny and rotting. His soil is heavy clay and very hard work. I’m very interested in the book you’ve recommended. I hope you have a lovely weekend. 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Clay soil is the worst ever to work. So I sympathise with your Dad LG.. Ours is sand based and took alot of work by a few generations of allotment holders I think to get it so good.. 🙂 I think its been a bit of hit and miss this last year with sprouts.. Several other allotment holders said their sprouts had rotted, looking ok on the outside but black in the middle. and blown open . Ours have been good and only a few rotted, and very sweet.. Wish I had wrote down what variety I had used now.. Never mind I am being more meticulous this year and taking note of varieties 🙂

      Like

  3. Looks lime fun to me:) We are getting our seed catalogs now and I’m having a nice time admiring and dreaming. Seems so far away but winter is really nearly half over isn’t it?

    Like

      • We saved some of our own from last year so we won’t be buying a lot. I have a coldframe where the spinach, leeks and carrots will probably resume growing when it thaws out as well. Not sure what I will be planting this year-need lots of organic produce and variety but not sure how much time we can spare. Still gardening is my therapy so I will do something. Whats your favorite to grow and eat?

        Liked by 1 person

        • Kale, Sweetcorn, Beans, Peas.. I love everything 🙂 I think what I enjoyed the other year was purple sprouting broccoli.. Just loved it, picked young to eat raw in salads.. along with baby Kale and Chard 🙂

          Like

          • Sounds delicious. I am the only one outside of the Amish who actually plants peas. I don’t every plant enough but I adore peas and they are so easy to grow. We actually will wait till the ground is nice and soft (preferably on St. Patricks Day) and we plant the seeds on that day. Even if it snows for another month the peas apparently love to be out there. We love making the neighbors upset that we are planting in the snow:) lol.

            Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Preparation for Spring | Dreamwalker’s Garden – WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

  5. Lovely moon photo Sue and I look forward to hearing how your planting by the moon goes. Those sprouts look delicious and I believe they have elevated sprouts to be one of the new “super” foods. I’ve always liked them. Hope your weather is improving.

    Like

  6. … sittin here in da snow and puttin on another layer of clothing … my garden is frozen solid … will last til middle of April … so enjoyed ur pics of ur garden, friend Sue … smiles … Always … Love, cat.

    Like

    • Sending warm hugs to you Cat.. Hope you are still purring in the warmth under those layers of clothing.. Today I started my Moon phase planting.. by setting my onion seeds to the Moon cycle today :-).. So pleased you enjoyed the gardening photos.. Much Love your way dear Cat xx 🙂 xxx

      Like

  7. Aw,Sue Dear!How glad I am to reconnect with you and enjoy your wonderful posts,my friend!I had been thinking of you and all my English and Scottish friends during all those torrential and catastrophic downpours and the storm attacks that battered so badly some regions of the UK.When I saw on BBC news the huge “Imogen” waves against some Cornwall coasts, I was scared.
    Lovely the moon shot above your allotments and all the photos of the prepared land there.But loveliest of all is the gorgeous Christmas present that your daughter bought for you.I have left my humble viewpoint on this fascinating book.I figure that the moon-based methods will immensely help your plants.The secrets of our Big Mother are numerous,she has so harmoniously connected everything on our planet.Have a wonderful day,I go back to the post I was reading before I was directed into your paradise garden.There is also a wonderful comment on my Love Roses that awaits a thank-you reply 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Your Thoughts Are Welcome Along with any Gardening Tips

