May time in the Allotments

Its been a while since I posted here. Life is certainly busy. And I am just about getting myself organised again after returning from  a lovely holiday in Scotland.

Garden shed

So for those who can remember, that shed my husband bought from a fellow allotmenteer is now standing proud and upright with the help of my Son who did most of the hard work.

Here you see the Old 'Lean too' shed in the background which is going to be pulled down. The base of the new shed is laid out, Using old concrete fence posts

Here you see the Old ‘Lean too’ shed in the background which is going to be pulled down. The base of the new shed is laid out, Using old concrete fence posts

The shed now errected and with new felt roof and I gave it two coats of wood preserve paint.

The shed now errected and with new felt roof and I gave it two coats of wood preserve paint. The old one is still behind it and is awaiting being pulled down.

You can see how dry the wood was on the shed as you see from my painting it with wood preserve the contrast in colours

You can see how dry the wood was on the shed  from my painting it with wood preserve, the contrast in colours.

When I got back after our vacaction, I set to and weeded. Along with thinning out of plants.  Click to enlarge photo’s and read.

If you look closely you can see the blossom on my young eating apple tree. I have yet to weed this section of the allotment

If you look closely you can see the blossom on my young cooking apple tree. I have yet to weed this section of the allotment The eating apple still has no blossom so hopefully next year it will

This part was where I had all the Gladioli last year.. You can see where the small corms had started to grow, so I set to to weed.

This part was where I had all the Gladioli last year.. You can see where the small corms had started to grow, so I set to to weed.

Now you can see the Gladioli after I weeded.. The main bulbs have been planted nearer the new green house this year as I have moved the flowers around this year.

Now you can see the Gladioli after I weeded.. The main bulbs have been planted nearer the new green house this year as I have moved the flowers around this year.

Here you can see what my hubby has been up to.. He took some old metal ladders that were rickerty apart. Taking out the step runners.. He has laid them out and staked them into the ground..

Here you can see what my hubby has been up to.. He took some old metal ladders that were rickerty apart. Taking out the step runners.. He has laid them out and staked them into the ground.. In the background the canes with the bottles on top are where we have put the Dahlia’s this year. .

The next stage was to get lengths of pipe and bend over putting into the runner holes.. then using canes stabilize the arches using ties to hold firm.

The next stage was to get lengths of pipe and bend over putting into the runner holes.. then using canes stabilize the arches using ties to hold firm.

The next stage we covered the rows with netting.. So as to keep butterflies away and hopefully stop caterpillars eating.

The next stage we covered the rows with netting.. So as to keep butterflies away and hopefully stop caterpillars eating.

Here are two tunnels now completed protecting brassica's and Chard.. The small net, I used to cover the peas, as the birds and pigeons just love young pea shoots, ( as do I in a salad )

Here are two tunnels now completed protecting brassica’s and Chard.. The small net, I used to cover the peas, as the birds and pigeons just love young pea shoots, ( as do I in a salad ) In the forground you can see the Garlic which I also weeded out.

Tomato plants are thriving and will be planted in the allotment green house next week

Tomato plants are thriving and are much larger than this now and will be planted in the allotment green house next week

As you can see, I have been busy planting up hanging baskets and wall hangers,

As you can see, I have been busy planting up hanging baskets and wall hangers in the home Greenhouse. These will go out when the threat of any over night frost is gone at the end of May.

Wishing you all

HAPPY GARDENING

~Sue~

62 thoughts on “May time in the Allotments

  1. You were definitely born beneath the soil Sue, you propagate from birth to production and then recycle.
    I absolutely love your allotment,and can appreciate the beautiful lifestyle it has given you.
    You are one in a million Sue, Nature and you are Bonded.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Ian.. 🙂 Yes I was, as was my husband.. Who is an outdoor man. 🙂 I just wrote a short letter on Dreamwalker’s Sanctuary explaining all the work and why I will not be able to spend as much time on my PC ..
      Thank you so very much Ian for this Huge compliment.. I feel I am a Millionare lol to have such a wealth of friends and such a life style to have the freedom to grow my own food and eat healthily.. 🙂
      Again thank you xxx Sue

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Ina, so pleased I caught your comment, I was just about to close down here for the day 🙂 Yes putting in the tomatoe’s today in the greenhouse so making hay while the sun shines.. Many thanks for your visit xxx Sue xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mother nature must have you on her list of carers, it’s great to see the steps, the preparation, the planting, and the bounty, it’s almost a description of heavens way, not forgetting the weeding!, blessings

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your garden is such a pleasure to behold! I love your husbands ingenius use of the ladder too. I’ll have to show mine because we could use a similar idea to help erect wind tunnels. What are you going to do with the hanging baskets? They look really sweet. I noticed our peas were poking out of the ground yesterday (at long last!) but we are not in a hurry to plant-its been cold and we had an unexpected frost. Cant wait for warmth and summer-gardening is very healing to me too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes we have been holding off planting out our tender plants Linda.. We have become wise to the British weather giving us a false sense of Spring only to shower us with snow and frosts late on..
      The Hanging baskets are for around our home garden, and the wall hangers for our fence.. and patio area to bring some colour when we sit out of an afternoon and evening.. 🙂 we are bringing them out of the green house in the day this week to harden off a little..
      It was red hot yesterday.. Today the wind has changed bringing wind and rain.. But at least we didn’t need to carry bucket loads of water in watering cans in the allotments today 🙂 xxx ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • We are building a green house to extend our very shortened season. Usually in my area, Mothers Day weekend is a the BIG planting weekend but it was very cold this Mothers Day. I love the wall hangers! I hope you put up photos when the flowers bloom. We also water by hand most of the time so appreciate the rain !

        Liked by 1 person

        • 🙂 Good that you are building a greenhouse… They do so help to protect young plants and bring extra heat to help ripen things sooner.. .. Yes it is set to rain all day here and night but clear tomorrow.. So off out again tomorrow and using time now to catch up a little xxx

          Liked by 1 person

          • We hope to extend our season into later autumn with this green house but its not finished yet so we shall see what happens.

            Like

  4. Looking good there DW….! Very clever hubby 🙂 Love the ladder re-use. I think most people realize folks are back outside come spring and summer and not a slave to the Internet. I think it is important for all of us to encourage more people breaking free and pursuing their desires and stop being slaves to our computers. Let us be good stewards for breaking free and truly becoming who we are and doing what we truly wish to do….Enjoy my friend and don’t think twice about us out here in blogland as then if you do you truly will not be free. Fly….!!!! Hugs…VK ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. So much work there,dear Sue!All well organised and arranged!The shed,thanks to your son, is really wonderful and all the plants are thriving thanks to your loving care.You astoundingly displayed and illustrated every image,it feels as if I am walking around the allotments and enjoy new life.The tomato plants look so happy,they do flourish.Enjoy your time in the hug of our Big Mother,but don’t overwork yourself.Sending you love & best wishes for a peaceful and creative week ahead ❤ 🙂 xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It looks like its all systems GO on your side of the globe Sue. Over here I am loath to go out into the garden at all as it hasn’t stopped raining and we are back at school. I am SO happy it’s raining again and I am getting time to read and sit near the fire. Lovely times and you have been SO busy in your garden. I love the new shed and the clever fix for cabbage moths. I had one of my kale plants almost decimated by them and then suddenly they disappeared and my kale remained intact for the rest of the season. I don’t know what predated them but it is welcome in Sanctuary any time! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes the gardens have their predators, and I am thankful for them.. I always save the ladybirds/bugs .. they often get themselves buried when I am weeding so I dig them out and place them to the side of the path. Glad your Kale survived.. One of my favourite veggies as it’s so good for you ..
      Hope to hop over to your Sanctury and catch up with what you have been up too.. seems another age since I called by.. xx

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Irene.. Yes lots to get done, Yesterday the tomato plants went into the green house.. today we have showers, but got things done in the home green house such as making up more planters for the wall, and sowing lettuce 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. It is good you have help as these photos definitely show the vastness of the undertaking and how much work is involved. I do miss gardening but now is the time in my life to focus on other things. I will enjoy your gardening from here. xoxox

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hi Sue,
    It’s lovely to be back looking at your beautiful plants and all your hard work. Your things are flourishing and it’s wonderful to see – there is nothing quite like the lift nature gives us when it grows. Our garden is looking beautiful just now and it’s such a joy for me to look out on. I’m so sorry you’ve been having all of these problems on your site – I really hope that is all resolved now. Take care my lovely friend and lots of love xxxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi dear Ruth, 🙂 so lovely to see you hear and I am so pleased you are enjoying your garden view.. How are you?.
      Yes it appears it was my computer after all, it is loading much faster now..
      Sending you big hugs too.. Sue ❤

      Like

    • Thank you.. we plan it out on paper, knowing to rotate crops and where to place the manure..
      This year I have been sowing the seeds to the Moon cycles and I have noticed a huge difference in how much stronger they have come through.. So we are pleased with the experiment.. 🙂

      Like

  9. Hey Sue,

    I am relieved to discover the ‘new shed’ was reborn from the not so old and loving restored to almost shiny new.

    Hubbies inspired use of the ladders is genius Sue! I wonder if one could take that set up one stage further and adapt it for irrigation? I imagine the ladders are hollow as too the plastic tubing…a few well laced grommets and corks and bingo, there’s an irrigated netted tunnel. Just a thought 🙂

    Thank you for the invitation to visit. I am enjoying this ‘diary’ following the allotment through the year. Looking forward to bloom and bonanza later in the year.

    Best wishes, brightest blessings,

    Namaste 🙂

    DN

    Liked by 1 person

    • I will ask him if that is possible Dewin.. And it would save my arms stretching a foot over summer.. 🙂 .. We have lots of water barrels at the back of the sheds.. and at the side of the green house that collects rain water.. So we are not having so far to walk to the trough tank.
      We do rig up water irrigation for the hanging baskets at home.. 🙂 saving climbing steps to water them.. 🙂 which I am sure are here in posts somewhere.. 🙂
      So happy you are enjoying 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Sue,

        My idea was a case of ‘every little helps’, suggesting that where efficiencies can be established it works in your favour in the longer term, evermore so when one considers the full length of the allotment season. If it works, great, if not, it’s back to plan A again and barrelling 🙂

        I remember we used to have a ‘water-but’ adjacent to the house many years ago. It too would fill with rain water and provide well for the garden. I’d enjoy many hours watching the insects whizz and whirl around it, and the Waterboatmen skating over it’s surface. It used to fascinate me. I’d think of it as my own private gazing pond and find ways of greening it with branches and leaves and turning it into something magical rather than an old oil drum. Ah, my early days of scrying, or trying scrying anyway 🙂

        Now I do like hanging baskets very much. Not just for the sheer diversity of plant life they will support but because they are so easy to maintain, and being up high keep the pathways and passages and the patio areas clean, neat and tidy, and obstacle free. The City in which I live fashions a lovely display along the main road around the Centre and when in bloom they add a lot of cheer to an otherwise mundane urban area. I just wish they would extend the idea into and through all other areas as well and help encourage a little brightness for one and all….but I guess the tax-payers pound only goes so far once Administrations have had their massive lump.

        I shall indeed pop to and fro every now and again and catch up with progress. I’m learning from your hard work and experience, and whilst I have no garden and one single hanging Ivy, there may come a time when the acquired knowledge will come in handy. One day maybe if ever I settle.

        Thanks again Sue for an enjoyable read. A pleasure to spend a little time with you and hubby at your allotment.

        Until next time, take care, happy gardening!

        Namaste 🙂

        DN

        Like

        • Thank you Dewin.. We do take water for granted here in this country simply because we get a lot of it.. But when you get a dry spell and you carry cans of water it is heavy work.. And I often am thankful for the place I was born, and not in some outback in an African village where by they walk half a day back and forth to get water that is far from clean.. to drink.. So collecting water has always been something we have done with a succession of water-barrels that are set to fill each other up in a tiered affect..

          Its always good to see you Dewin.. and when ever you are passing, you are always welcome to a brew and what ever is growing in season 😉

          Liked by 1 person

          • Hey Sue,

            Yes indeed the whole issue of water and its availability is a major threat to people and wildlife across the globe. Only this morning I was reading several articles on wgrovedotnet regarding Trident and Michael Fallon’s statement on Radio 4 that the Tories had a ‘strike first’ policy and would not hesitate to unleash Armageddon upon the World. Included in one of the articles was the following regarding mass migration and movements of people…

            ‘The threats we face are from the mass movement of people away from drought-stricken parts of world as they search for water and other natural resources. Indeed by 2045 it is projected that over 70% of the world’s population will be urban dwellers and many of the poorest will be concentrated into mega-cities in South America, Africa and Asiah’ (https://wgrovedotnet.wordpress.com/2015/10/19/to-nuke-or-not-to-nuke-that-is-the-question-by-susan-oneill/)

            The demographic of the World is changing rapidly and with it will come scarcity of resources, including clean water. One wonders what suffering and plight will prevail in the poorest countries of the world. It’s deeply troubling. The article goes on to suggest that instead of making early provision now and investing in the future, our government chooses to spend £100 billion on Trident instead. I think that says all we need to know about the governments future agenda.

            I do like the sound of the succession of tiered water buts, what a clever idea and one that makes an awful lot of good sense. I’d imagine that rain water is actually far better to use than treated tap water would be? Do you add natural fertilisers to the watering or do you take that as done when using manure and other organic material and compost on the beds? My father used to be a great lover of manure and on numerous occasions I can recall returning from my sister’s horse-riding lessons with the back of the car weighed down with two or three sacks of the smelly stuff…indeed on one occasion a sack-full even shared the front passenger seat and wore a seatbelt 🙂 On other occasions my sister and I would walk miles to find woodlands full of rotting leaves to carry back home for the compost heap. 50p per sack-load! I must have nuts! lol 🙂

            The offer of a brew and a nibble on a carrot sounds wonderful…the classic English allotment picnic…and it’d be a pleasure to poke my nose around the open gate and join you. If the old shed is still there intact, I might even crash the night and head on again in the morning. Which reminds me of another book, have you ever read, ‘The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry?’ by Rachel Joyce. It’s another delightful misadventure and a very charming read. I have it on audio book from Audible.co.uk read by Jim Broadbent. It’s excellent, and audio books I would thoroughly recommend to everyone. Just imagine digging away on the allotment and being entertained whilst you do it. Perfect fun in the sun! I’ll leave you to pursue your interest as you wish.

            Well, 8.30pm and I should be making tracks myself. Another full day at the coal-face again tomorrow, oh joy, so I’d best away until the break of day, grab a little supper and then hit the trail heading for the Land of Zzzzzzz.

            Until next time, take good care, and have a wonderful build up to the weekend.

            Blessings in all ways for always 🙂

            Namaste 🙂

            DN

            Like

            • The world often goes around in its cycles and we tare down walls one minute only to build them the next. I am often reminded of the Hopi prophecies regarding the road in which we will take. Given Human nature we seem a breed intent on suffering.. Yet I am the eternal optimist.. A believer in Miracles and Magic.. And the 100th Monkey.. Give or take a few Million.. 🙂

              Thank you for the new titles of reading materials too Dewin.. 🙂 always good to know a book is a good read. Audio books I have few of.. But they are the taped variety, old not the CDs.. 🙂
              As for the fertilisers.. No we usually only use the manure from the organic farm.. But one year I did make a concoction of a nettle fertiliser.. But the smell of it was pungent and seemed to linger.. But they are very good… So now I leave a little nettle patch for the peacock butterflies behind the shed and near the blackberries .. they prefer them to lay their eggs on them.
              And Young nettles make good nettle soup, my daughter made some the other week and raved about how delicious it was and is now growing nettles in a oblong planter at her home, and I love nettle tea.. All good for you. Nature provides most things.. And we do not need chemicals..
              Have a good weekend Dewin.. Until next time. 🙂

              Like

Your Thoughts Are Welcome Along with any Gardening Tips

