Keeping Weed Free

Purple sprouting broccoliAllotment

Click photo’s to enlarge them.

I love this time of year when we begin to harvest the crops. And covering our Brassica family up to stop pests from Spring with nets has certainly reduced the influx of caterpillars and white fly.

Broccoli and Cauliflowers

Broccoli and Cauliflowers

We are also happy with the way our Allotment Greenhouse is ripening our tomatoes and they are further forward than our greenhouse tomatoes at home.

We uncovered the Chard from the nets and I set too to weed between them. This veggie is so versatile. we enjoy the young leaves in Salads, but its wonderful steamed like spinach

Rainbow Chard

Rainbow Chard

Peas

Peas

The Pea rows are now in flower and producing pods, But to be honest this is not our best year for peas, the small covered  cloche  to the right is another Pea row. Again these have not germinated well. It appears many of us got our peas from the allotment association and many of us have had the same problem of poor germination. I had to re-set the row you see growing as it began life as two rows of 3 a breast.. But so many didn’t grow I transferred into one long row.   I will be  uncovering weeding and seeing how these have done this week.

 

New rows of Beets and carrots, You can also see how the sweetcorn is growing and you may just make out the thin blades of Leeks .

New rows of Beets and carrots, You can also see how the sweetcorn is growing and you may just make out the thin blades of Leeks . The plants in the foreground are  Celeriac . In the background are the potatoes  and manure heap under the blue tarpaulin 

Keeping the above weed free is a full-time job. no sooner have you finished one part of the allotment than another is ready for clearing.  This is what I have been up to most days of this week. And my back now knows about it.

Turnips

Turnips

The blue tarpaulin you can see at the top of the large picture above on our plot is the left over manure from the trailer load we had delivered last year.  We were amazed at how much was still left over.

My Hubby decided to move it as we had several empty compost bins.. He filled seven and still there was some left over. Each Bin contains 8 barrow loads of Muck, He moved around 60 barrow loads over a two-day period.

Some of you have been asking for an idea of how large the allotments are and how big our plots are..

I hope in the next post to have taken a few pictures to give a better understanding of our Allotments Association . And how because most of us have not got fences, how difficult it is to stop those wishing to take what you have grown.

Until next Time

Happy Gardening !

~Sue~

 

 

92 thoughts on “Keeping Weed Free

  1. Wow! Just wow! I admire what you are doing a lot.
    I have been offline too, but for far less valuable reasons. I can’t get anything to work. It’s the weirdest thing. I know it’s me, because atypical things are happening. Once I figure it out and get things working again, I will be posting again and going around to friend’s sites.
    Wonderful to see your garden, Sue!
    Peace and Love
    Mary

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Mary, I so thank you for dropping in. I Will be spending more time here after tomorrow and hope to catch your update too. I am resting up this weekend, and the Tennis finals finish tomorrow, So I will no doubt have back my blog head again then LOL.. xxx Glad you enjoyed the veggie garden x ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, you busy lady. I would love to have a garden like this! Enjoy this Sue, the earth and sky and beautiful plants and flowers. This is truly what life is about. Much love to you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You have such a wonderful and beautiful garden Sue 😀
    Maybe you should try to seed another kind of pea’s next year, so you can get your good harvest again.
    There are so many delicious pea’s to choose between.
    Much love ❤ Irene

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Sue, so glad you have had time to put your feet up and to relax watching the tennis, but OMG I could not relax, on the edge of my seat most of the time, although I have to say not as avid a watcher as my mum in law was God rest her Soul – she was my best friend in all the world. Happy gardening Sue and I’m sure you will grow enough for the robbers! Love, David

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes edge of the seat stuff it has been David.. I especially loved the Wheelchair final this afternoon, then of course the Williams Sisters, they are just an amazing pair.. 🙂 Now fingers crossed for Andy tomorrow.. 🙂 Glad you enjoyed the garden.. And yes lots to share.. and we are sharing.. xx

      Like

  5. What a beautifully large garden. I used mulch between rows and plants in my garden to keep the weeds down and then just turn it into the soil the following year. I certainly don’t have to space to cover that you do though. Plus weeds do still somehow make through 3″ of mulch eventually. Take care and pace yourself — you don’t want to burn out before the season is done.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Tilly, so pleased to see you, and yes Mulch would be good.. But the area is very large. although we have mulched in the past parts of it. And yes you are right about Pacing ones self.. I weed a bit and then sit a bit LOL…
      Many thanks for your your interest.. Hugs Sue

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I wish the weeds were as edible as the veggies and then we would actually welcome them ;). Seriously though, they are a big problem in the spring/summer period. Hopefully our fridge wicking system will make them easier to weed (less bending) and we can whipper snip in between them. Loving your images and can’t wait to read more about your allotment 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am sure your fridge wicking system will make a huge difference and yes LOTs less bending. I took a few photos Friday and hope to load up soon Fran. and yes what is it with weeds that they grow 4 times as fast as crops 🙂 xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I love your garden Sue. The pictures show how much of work and time has gone into it! I think it is as good as blogging…even better because the yields could be incomparable and precious! 🙂
    Stay busy & blessed 🙂 hugs.

    Like

    • Thank you dear Balroop, Yes the yields are great dear friend, and our neighbours and family are enjoying the fruits of our labours.. 🙂 Many thanks for taking a walk around 🙂 Loved having your company Balroop as always my friend xx ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  8. You two are an amazing pair to do all the gardening work you do. I can’t imagine you keeping all that you harvest so do you give some away? Is your parcel quite as large as an acre or smaller than that? Your produce looks awesome.

    Like

    • Yes Renee, we freeze alot of our produce, we have 4 freezers and it helps keep us in veggies over winter. And yes we share a lot, with family, neighbours and other gardeners on the plot as we often exchange produce.. Like last year I gave a lot of my flowers away and we got things given us in return that they had more than enough of.. 🙂 I will try to show in a future post how big our plot is and how it stands among others..

      Like

  9. This delicious looking garden is no doubt hard work to manage and keep weed free and looking so very
    good. Besides all of that it is a blessing for the whole family. Thank you Sue for sharing your work and pleasure. with love and blessings, Eddie

    Like

  10. Wow, how amazing! So much food! I have a question about peas; I’m growing snap and snow varieties and they have been producing lots. At the end of the season do they hibernate and grow more next season or should I rip the plants out and replant new ones next year? I suppose I’m wondering that about tomatoes as well. Learning is half the fun! Thanks 🙂

    Like

    • If you leave the snaps they will mature into Pea pods.. If you want next years seeds from the peas, allow some to dry out on the stems while still in the ground.. We rip them up and start each season with fresh seeds.. Tomatoes you will only get one growing season from one plant.. These will die off after they have finished fruiting.. Now you can collect the seeds from your tastiest tomatoes.. You do this by collecting the seeds from a very ripe tomato that is your ‘Tastiest’ crop. Take out the seeds and allow them to dry out on some kitchen paper or blotting paper.. I dry mine on the kitchen window sill.. Then when completely dry, ( don’t worry if a bit of the paper sticks to the seeds ) Place seeds in an envelope and label. Then plant in seed trays next year to grow on..
      I have done that with some tasty yellow cherry tomatoes I had given me last year from another fellow allotment holder.. I loved the taste so saved the seeds and they are in the green house growing. Thank you NannyGrannie for asking xxx

      Like

  11. My husband and I grow a large garden every year, We seldom manage to keep it weed free, but we benefit from all our fresh produce, We grow all types of berries and spend weeks harvesting them. Love nature and the outdoors. Have made several zucchini squash casseroles so far. You have a very nice gardening blog. Peggy

    Like

    • Hi Peggy, Welcome.. No we never EVER manage to keep our large plot weed free either, but we have a good go of keeping it down.. Your Zucchini are what we call here Courgettes.. 🙂 and we love them when small we peel raw in salads Similar to this Recipe HERE And Yes I so agree.. Nothing beats Nature and being outdoors.. Many thanks for your visit and I will be repaying a visit shortly xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Sue!! My goodness!! No wonder you are tired, dear friend! I KNOW what gardening takes and YOU are the Queen of Gardens! You rest those feet all you want and watch what you want. I’ve very much been into inspiring movies of late. Bless you for taking care of Mother with care!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Amy, I know you would know what it takes to look after a plot this size. My hubby has gone to the plot without me this mornng, I am having a morning on the WP as later my granddaughter sleeps over and tomorrow we take her to her Jiu-Jitsu classes. She started last week age 5 and loves it. Her Dancing class at the weekends are complimenting her agility. But I don’t know who comes home more tired, her or me 🙂 lol xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Congratulations on a bountiful harvest Sue.
    Must be my imagination or lack of time frame, but it seems that it has only been a couple of weeks since you were preparing the soil and planting. I think you could grow Gold in that soil Sue.
    Cheers

    Liked by 1 person

    • Now what would I do with a plot of Gold.. I couldn’t eat it LOL.. But it may well go a long ways to helping feed and house those with no food or roof over their heads.. I am very Lucky in this life Ian.. When I take a long hard look at many more in this world who are in need.. 🙂

      Thanks for that great compliment Ian.. I am working my way around to you.. I saw a new update in my email box today as I work my way down through them all 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yes we who are Gardeners do hold mutual respect.. But there appears to have been a few bad apples join recently.. Last year in fact.. When my hubby had certain items ( not food ) stollen from our plot..
      We have had fruit, and onions and other bits and bobs go..
      But someone now is getting vindictive as the man who helps run it got his greenhouse tomatoes on his plot all trashed, Someone broke then all and pulled them out .. So sad such people would do that.. This gentleman is 80 and doesn’t need that happening.. So yes some bad apples appear to have a grudge or something.. Its everywhere unfortunately .. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Looks amazing, what a treasure! Love growing my own vegetables but nowadays my garden is very tiny and almost filled with flowers. Looks like you have a lot to do and really nice things to do in my opinion. Lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. It’s very pleasing to be able to look at and appreciate such a beautiful and productive garden! My little water tower is getting some seedlings soon, romaine will be among them. That’s all I have time/energy for. Luckily here in California I can grow year-round. I just don’t always have the time. So, I work ‘little’ and with a small size to yield food for my small family. Your energy amazes me, Sue! I take great joy in looking at these images, and the great big size of your allotments. Take good care of yourself (I know you will). Work in the garden can be so therapeutic, too. Definitely brings nice sleep. It’ll be interesting to see what you show in your next post about the size of the allotments and more about the allotment association. Thanks for your share, Ka

    Like

    • Lovely to see you among the veggies dear Ka, apologies for only just getting to reply.. 🙂
      And I think your tower system is amazing. and you are lucky to have the climate to grow all year around.. It sounds as if you have been extra busy too.. But you are right gardening is very therapeutic and relaxing and exhausting all at the same time.. but I wouldnt change a thing ❤ Love right on back xx

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yes netting has proved wonderful for keeping off the butterflies ‘cabbage whites’ from laying their eggs. Also the birds are prevented from picking the redcurrents. and the pigeons the young shoots etc.. So it is worth it.. xx And thank you yes, I hope you are too Maria xx

      Like

  16. So sorry to hear you are having problems with your peas and your greenhouse tomatoes at your home. As you know I had some damage this year in fruits but other things are thriving for a change. Don’t overdo the weeding and hurt your back.

    Like

    • Thank you Kourtney, Yes its a full time job this time of year 🙂 And during the Summer and Autumn months this is where I spend most of my time.. 🙂 xxx ❤ So lovely to find you among the veggies ❤

      Like

  17. Lovely Sue well done so much hard work. My Gooseberries were great this year. Oh I managed to pick them before the critters ate them. Not so lucky with the red cherries, Blackbirds are very quick in eating them. You should be proud , good thinking with the netting Sue.
    Great stuff
    Sheila xx
    Enjoy your weekend x

    Like

    • Thank you Sheila, yes lots to do.. our Gooseberries we cut back last year, so next year we hope to have a good crop 🙂 Yes the birds soon swoop and eat the red berries and cherries I would image soon disappear. The nets we use have been a great help xx Enjoy your new week also Sheila xx

      Like

Your Thoughts Are Welcome Along with any Gardening Tips

