A Busy time in the Sun

I have been busy this last week in both garden at home and on the plot.. Plus its School Summer holidays and I have been playing with my Granddaughter more and just enjoying Life. 

Here are a few of the things gathered in the garden and that are getting ready for picking. 

Click the photo’s to enlarge or hold your cursor over them to reveal the headings.

The Dahlia's are out in abundance right now and I have three vase's full.. More to go to my daughters this evening and the neighbours have loved receiving little bunches too

The Dahlia’s are out in abundance right now and I have three vase’s full at the moment .. More to go to my daughters this evening and the neighbours have loved receiving little bunches too I have an updated photo of the lovely blooms to show next time.. 

The first flush of raspberries on the early flowering have now all been picked and frozen, I cut out all the old stems that had finished fruiting in the middle of last week. And await the next lot of fruits which are forming into flowers right now to gather later in the autumn.

The first flush of raspberries on the early flowering have now all been picked and frozen, I cut out all the old stems that had finished fruiting in the middle of last week. And await the next lot of fruits which are forming into flowers right now to gather later in the autumn.

The strawberries have done well also this year from our moving the bed and planting the runners.. And we have had our fair share of strawberry flans and added them into trifles as well as enjoying them with ice-cream

The strawberries have done well also this year from our moving the bed and planting the runners.. And we have had our fair share of strawberry flans and added them into trifles as well as enjoying them with ice-cream

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

PEAS 

The next photo’s are of our second small row of Peas which we left under the Cloche and sort of forgot about.

This was a row of small peas which had been under a cloche . There were more weeds than peas as you can see in my next photo

This was a row of small peas which had been under a cloche . There were more weeds than peas as you can see in my next photo

I decided to weed them out

Weeding out the Peas

Weeding out the Peas

 

Now I added a wire fence and I ran some string in and out of some sticks to secure and help them grow upwards.. We had a huge bucket full of Peas I podded and froze from our other row this week too

Now I added a wire fence and I ran some string in and out of some sticks to secure and help them grow upwards..
We had a huge bucket full of Peas I podded and froze from our other row this week too

The Universe is always listening to me, even in my garden.. Last year a couple of plots down from us were some wonderful large poppy heads I so wanted some of those poppies but never saw the owner of the plot to ask him if I could have some seeds..

The Universe sorted it though for look what sprung up at the side of the greenhouse

Wishing you all a Wonderful Weekend and Happy Gardening until next time 

 

Poppy Magic

 Poppy Magic

26 thoughts on “A Busy time in the Sun

  1. We still haven’t been able to set foot in Sanctuary due to the huge amount of rain we have had recently. Turns out we are a hairs breath away from breaking a July rainfall record. I love looking at your productive green garden and how beautiful it is Sue. Cheers for taking the time to photograph it and share it with us all. Some of us are living vicariously through your colours 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Seems like you are really having a bad winter Fran.. So pleased my post brought a little green cheer your way.. I so know how we felt with all the rain we had in June.. and how cold it felt.. Thankfully July has been much better.. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • I don’t mind the rain and the cold, we just can’t get stuck in with the huge Sanctuary redo yet and that makes me a bit twitchy. We have a lot of studying to do which is certainly taking up the slack when it comes to filling up our spare time and I am doing a lot of crochet and reading again which is great fun. Steve and I are both putting weight on as it’s easy to sit around and eat when its cold and rainy outside so we are going to have to get our round derrieres out into the garden pronto before we can’t fit out the doors for summer! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this garden post Sue. Thanks for sharing. Have not had currants since I was a child. We use to pick them in the wild in Washington and Oregon state. We had quite a few raspberries this year, my favorite berry. Have a nice week. Peggy

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Pingback: Freedom with a capital ‘F’. – Learning from Dogs

  4. Hi, friend Sue … haven’t been in touch for so long, but now I am … smiles … just came back from your garden … smiles … Summer has been good to us as well so far … busy in garden and fields (it’s haying time) … plus my work at the hospital … Will send you some pics of my garden and harvest of same, plus a pic of some bell peppers I am growin from seed … smiles … no peas again this year, as the deer like them too much … o, well, maybe they will offer me one of their deer population come hunting season … but before that, me will visit Cuba again in September and Cook Islands in November … Love U so much, cat.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi dear Cat..so lovely to have you among the Veggie plot again.. and in your short window of growing time, it sounds like you are doing well on the gardening front.. I will look out for the pictures in email.. And Cuba is becoming popular with travellers here too.. I can see why.. Do not over do things my friend..
      Take care..
      Sue xxx

      Like

  5. Liebe Sue das sind ja wunderschöne Fotos vom Garten komme jetzt erst zum schreiben Gislinde ist immer noch im Krankenhaus seit 7 Wochen heute wird das Bad behinderten gerecht umgebaut darum ist auch Gislindes Kommentar Funktion geschlossen sei ganz lieb gegrüßt Klaus in Freundschaft

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lieber Klaus,
      Ich hatte gedacht, Gislinde vielleicht wurde die Behandlung im Krankenhaus unterziehen wieder mein Freund .. Ich bin so traurig, sie hat schon so lange im Krankenhaus zu hören ..
      Bitte geben Gislinde eine besondere Umarmung von mir.
      Sie ist sehr viel verpasst.
      Und ich schicke ihr Blumen aus meinem Garten über den Äther des Denkens.
      Auch meine Liebe und Heilung Gedanken schickte ihr den Weg.

      Liebe und besten Wünsche lieber Klaus Ihnen und Gislinde ..
      Liebe Sue xxx

      Like

Your Thoughts Are Welcome Along with any Gardening Tips

