Easter Weekend Gardening~Marigold tips

Easter is a time many of us get out into our gardens and start to think about planting out our bedding plants.. But its also that time of year that the weather often takes an unexpected turn and plunges back into the cold..

Last year we went away the end of April beginning of May for a week and left our sweetcorn in the cold frame.  However a sharp frost and unexpected snow killed it, so we had to start again.. So do keep an eye out on the forecasts for frosts and low temps etc… And keep those tender plants protected..  The cabbages and Brassica family should be fine if you have hardened them off sufficiently though.. And next week I think we will be putting ours into the prepared limed positions..

So  what have we been doing all week? The best way I think is in picture format..

First my Hubby dug two trenches and filled them with manure. We then carried the old swing frame we use to support the canes to its new position in the garden. The beans are in in the greenhouse thriving.

This piece of land my hubby lightly sprinkled some Manure over and then forked it over.. This is where this year we will plant sweetcorn and Leeks and the Dahlias are going nearer the potatoes this year.

 I set too and started to weed this section out. The line is to help me see where the Gladioli’s are, as they are just starting to shoot through.. Last year we decided to see how they went if we left them all in the ground. But you can see how overgrown they are.. Lots of poppies, which I love, had to come up.

Now you can see the weeding almost done one side of the line. I leave in the marigolds.. You will see these flowers dotted all over the allotment, They are very good at keeping some bugs at bay..

Now you can see I also cleared the path leading up to the greenhouse

 

I also weeded out the ground between the raspberries and loganberries. All shooting nicely now.

Below you can see the view as I stand with my back to the sheds. I left in lots of marigold seedlings I will leave many of these in and also use to transplant back in my home garden and dot around the allotments as they act as  good pest control to certain bugs..

  When you are not using chemical pest controls, these tips and  more can be found on the BBC Gardening  Guide  on why marigolds and Nasturtiums are good for pest control.  Link to the below quote can be found HERE 

Plant combinations

  • Grow French marigolds among tomatoes. Marigolds emit a strong odour that will repel greenfly and blackfly.
  • Grow sage with carrots or plants in the cabbage family to ward off pests. Both have strong scents that drive away each other’s pests.
  • Plant nasturtium with cabbages – they’re a magnet for caterpillars that will then leave the cabbages alone.
  • Garlic planted among roses will ward off aphids.
  • Plant carrots and leeks together on the allotment or vegetable patch to protect against a number of pests. Leeks repel carrot fly and carrots repel onion fly and leek moth.

Make sure companion plants are planted at the same time as your edible crops to prevent pests from getting a foothold.

In the foreground are the Autumn fruiting Raspberries and the tall Blueberries, .. The loganberries are on the framework and behind those are the raspberry canes that fruit early summer.

Click onto the images this will take you into the slide module where you can read more. 

 

So Wishing you a very Happy Easter

and Happy Gardening

~Sue~

52 thoughts on “Easter Weekend Gardening~Marigold tips

  1. Your gardens look amazing Sue 🙂
    I used to plant carots and leeks together in Denmark too.
    More than that, I found out, that Parsley also keeps flies away. I also used Thyme, Mint and Basil for the same.
    Happy Easter time with your family ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You and your hubby are SO organised! I wander up to (chaos central) Sanctuary and occasionally manage a bit of a hack with the whipper snipper to prevent the raspberries from taking over Poland (unsuccessfully as I should really be honest and add here 😉 ) and that’s about it. We are concentrating on our wicking beds to grow veggies in and they have been most promising this last season. I planted out broad beans a week and a half ago and they are now almost a foot tall! Talking about Easter, we had NO idea that it was Easter this weekend. We were driving in to the shops yesterday and suddenly realised that we had picked the very WORST day to do our fortnightly shopping. It seems every man and his dog was out shopping like the apocalypse was tomorrow and the shops would be shut for a month (only a day here but you get the picture!) Steve was officially traumatised by the whole shopping deal and had one lady laughing in one of the shops that we visited and agreeing that it was, indeed, a mad house in the city. No eggs here as we are both vegan now and can’t source vegan chocolate (and it’s not very nice when you can) and this is probably the very first time that Steve won’t have to feel Catholic guilt about eating meat or hunting around to find fish this Friday. No meat here so God should be happy with that 🙂 Your garden looks magnificent Sue and you and your hubby should be massively proud of what you are doing. I often wish I lived in the U.K. so that I could just pop over and see what you are doing, have a chat and learn how to get my tangled mass under control. Have a lovely Easter and eat an extra egg for Steve and I please 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am admiring your Vegan diet Fran.. and laughed at the shopping mad panic .. Same here in the UK.. its mad how people shop and buy for this weekend… I can only imagine half gets thrown away..
      compliments I know will please hubby.. and I will pass on your praise to be sure.. xxx 🙂 Happy Easter.. and I know you will survive without the chocolate.. 🙂 xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Your plant combinations sound like something right out of the Rodale handbook. They are/were organic farmers and wrote many books on gardening in sync with nature. It’s wonderful to see your beautiful garden and what you’re up to It’s all so wonderful and seeing how you do things helps me think about what I might do in my own garden. ❤ Keep up the beautiful work, sweet Sue!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Cyndi.. we will.. I learnt lots from my Dad and Granddad.. and intend to teach our Granddaughter lots too… She loves gardening.. But her ambition at only 6 and has been since she was 4 is to be a Dr… The way she is learning, I think she may well achieve her ambition lol…
      Happy Easter my friend I may well go quiet for a few days x

      Like

    • Haha.. Yes slugs are not the best garden friends.. Last year saw huge ones as we had lots of rain.. Copper tape helps in the greenhouse for those tender new shoots.. But we live and let live in the allotments.. Removing them to munch on the compost heap if we see them. 😀

      Like

  4. Wow! I didn’t know about this blog Sue, love it! I plan to find a base in the next year or so- when I do, I want a garden and to learn how to work it. This will be an invaluable resource! Very excited by it. Hope you are having a lovely weekend 💚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Sue — I’m really impressed with how much outside gardening you folks are doing over their in the “soggy UK.” We’re still under water here in Oregon and the temps are near freezing every night. I have no idea what we’ll be doing in today’s Garden Party but it is not raining and I’m up for it! I appreciated your companion planting ideas and sent those suggestions along to our garden managers. They are pretty savvy people and may know this already but I sent it anyway. Love to you, Alia

    Like

    • Thank you Alia.. Yes I expect they will already know good companion planting.. But I am honored you think it worth the pass on. I hope your own weather warms up and dries out soon.. Its turned a lot cooler here too.. and frosts given for mid week.. So not planting anything that is tender at the moment out.
      Hope your Garden Party went well Alia.. Love and Warm hugs back xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you Sue, Our Garden Party was glorious with lots of sun and not a drop of rain. So many folks turned out that we completed the work our garden managers had set out for us in a half hour, so they had to improvise for the next hour and a half to keep us busy. No worries, there was lots to do. And guess what?! We actually planted broccoli and red cabbage starts. However, the folks down the road from us with their commercial garden lost all their recent outdoor plantings to a frost last week, so our manager said she would head to town to get “covers” for ours. I’m so excited — our “babies” look so nice in their new beds. Oh yes — we harvested leeks that had over-wintered. What beauties! We’ll be making soup for months! Take care, Alia

        Liked by 1 person

        • Wonderful.. Yes my Hubby planted out our Cabbages of various sorts.. And they are under cloches to help protect them.. They were hardened off first though after coming out of the green house for two weeks.. 🙂 we have just brought out broccoli and sprouts they are under green mesh to help protect for now.. Then after mid week, ( Temps are set to go to Minus 7 so the forecasts say mid week )… So they will go into the ground next week most likely..
          Love Leeks… Can never get enough of them.. and are lovely steamed with a little butter as a side veggie.. I also like them shredded up thin in cabbage that is shredded thinly too and steamed.. 🙂 And Soups.. 🙂 don’t get me started 🙂 lol

          Liked by 1 person

  6. This is so impressive! Lots of hard work too. I never realized how big your allotment was before this post. We had a plot in a community garden in Chicago that was 4’x20′ and tbat was standard! Have you used nasturtium as pest control before? I lime to eat them so I’d rather protect them if the caterpillars do alot of damage:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Linda.. 🙂 Yes we use nasturtiums too. A great attract for black fly and caterpillars.. Yes its a large plot.. Many of these plots are this size on our particular allotments.. But they are now dividing new plots up that are being rented out into two.. Lots of woman now taking on the allotments and to be honest these are Very large for one person to maintain correctly all year.. Especially if you have a full time job.. Even we used to struggle to keep it looking ship shape when we were both working.. Now we have more time.. 🙂 Lovely to see you on the plot too Linda.. xxx ❤

      Like

  7. Always great reading your posts Sue, I can usually see or find something in there that I can use or adapt to my circumstances, Ana always plants Marigolds around all our vegetables.
    I am thinking that where you live you must have a good supply of Manure, or access to a good supply.
    Happy Gardening.
    Cheers.

    Liked by 1 person

Your Thoughts Are Welcome Along with any Gardening Tips

