Laughter behind the Garden Shed.

Gardening holds rich rewards as we know, and we also know it requires effort and putting in the time or nature soon takes control and your allotment will revert back to the field it once was..

Remember this

This piece is where we had the butternut Squash last year.. The water system πŸ™‚ , still in place.. And has still to be cleared and sorted.. And that rickety old shed is still standing despite the high winds.. but this summer it will definitely come down..

And yes.. I did dig all that piece myself.. Hubby snook up and shouted as I looked up.. He snapped it .. πŸ˜‰ Β So no laughing. πŸ˜‰Β 

Spring time is when many take on new plots but for many new allotmenteers Β they can Β be put off with the prospect of digging their first ploughed furrow which when a plot has been neglected for years looks like a field..

So our Allotments offer to plough it up for them. Β But once ploughed it requires tender loving care.. And years of getting all the twitch that is the grass and bind-weed out. Β As well as horse-tail Β which roots break which create more to grow. And you will never get rid of the billions of seeds you unearth each time you dig it afresh… So you have to keep on top of things. Because Mother Nature Gives, but she soon reclaims what is hers.. πŸ˜‰Β 

The green house was cleaned and my husband put the grow bags in and filled up the pots with more compost. securing the canes in readiness for the tomatoesΒ 

This is the greenhouse in the allotments.. my hubby got them all ready over the Easter weekend and now the tomatoes are in..Photos next time of them growing..
You can see the Leeks and the rainbow chard in the corner.. Still waiting to go into the cold frame..

Remember the holes that were limed for the cabbages. Well now the cabbages are in.. They are covered up as we have a lot of wood-pigeon who just love young cabbage leaves..Β 

Planting cabbages

Hubby planting out cabbages in those limed holes of the other week. They are watered in and then covered.. He will heal them in firmer in a few weeks once the roots get a firmer grip.. This helps get a tighter cabbage or sprout..

Here you can see the Pea rows.. A few misses which I put more seeds into and watered.. And that kneeler is a blessing. to my knees..Β 

These are our apple trees.. I forget which is the eater and cooker.. We only got the 5 apples on one last year… So looking forward this year to trying both.
Below you can see the Gladioli Β small corms I left in from two years ago now sprouting.. Hopefully they may flower this year.

Here our apple trees a cooker and an eater have more blossom this year

Close view of apple blossoms..

 

 

Β These seeds were taken out of the pumpkin we used for Halloween.. I dried around 20 of them.. We set 6 and all have germinated

Now I am usually the one behind the camera and its a rarity that my hubby likes to get in front of the camera. Β But when I suggested a selfie of the both of us he happily agreed. So I set the camera up on the Β horizontol trellis of the Loganberry fruit bushes

In the foreground are the Autumn fruiting Raspberries and the tall Blue berries, .. The loganberries are on the framework and behind those are the raspberry canes that fruit early summer.

Β And below is the sequence of Β takes.. These were taken in early morning and I had my Woolley hat on as it had been frosty early morning.. And was blowing a cool wind. Β 

The camera had a 10 Second timer.. So I had to run..Β 

Now this is a shot I was trying with the timer on my small hand-held digital camera. Its timer is for 10 seconds.. ( I was supposed to be in the shot. ) I didn’t run fast enoughΒ 

Second attempt.. Hubby was laughing counting down from 10 to Zero.. I nearly made it.. as he passed me my cuppa..

Third time Lucky.. Only Just.

Yayyyyyyy……. Lots of laughs… I ran at super speed around the loganberry bushes to sit down looking all relaxed…
πŸ™‚ Lots of laughter and Fun with this Selfie..

 

Cheers! And Happy Gardening! Until next time.Β 

~Sue~

70 thoughts on “Laughter behind the Garden Shed.

  1. It’s so fun and exciting to watch the progress of your work Sue. Your garden is try magical. It’s a so derail feeling to see the fruition of so much hard work. Bless you sweet lady! ❀

    Like

  2. Aw, it looks like you had a wonderful time! We too saved the pumpkin seeds from Halloween as my son is determined to grow his own this year. They’ve germinated well so far so we’ve got fingers crossed that we’ll get some.

    Like

    • Thank you Mrs C… Yes we were surprised ALL germinated.. waste not want not is our motto… πŸ™‚ I wish your own Pumpkins well Mrs C.. And thank you.. Lovely to see you on the Plot.. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I know how much work you put into your allotment and it is admirable. Digging and weeding takes up most of the time. Some people thinks it is easy to recreate my gardens and when they start they abandon their projects. You are right you have to keep on top of things. Good work

    Like

    • Its hard work but keeping on top of it makes it easier but there are hours spent here to keep it looking at it is.. I took a photo today of one plot that has been vacant in just under a year.. I will post it and show it reverted back in my next post.. πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Thanks for the laughs and inspiration, Sue πŸ™‚ Humor mixes well with Mother Nature, as I do believe she enjoys a good chuckle. A visit to your garden always cheers me up. Thank you, sweet friend πŸ’š

    Like

  5. Brilliant Sue; the soil there looks absolutely wonderful, and it’s lovely to see you and hubby together out there on the allotment β€” your smiles are as radiant as the apple blossom. πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. What a wonderful space you have there, Sue! I love seeing all the photos and hearing about your processes! (I hadn’t heard of liming the holes for cabbages!) How awesome this is going to look when everything is in full growth mode!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Jane.. Yes when it gets growing its pretty awesome.. And glad you learnt something new about Liming, more info about it can be found on the previous post I think.. :-)… So happy you enjoyed.. Big Hugs xxx ❀

      Like

  7. So much fun! I’ve not seen that set-up for tomatoes before, either. I admire your organization. I’m a very hodge podge cottage gardener at the moment, but our new place will have long rows of new raised beds and then I’ll need to sneak in the edibles into the existing flowering beds. I always used to resist neat rows, but your blog is warming me up to better organization and efficiency. It still looks fun — happy to see you laughing. πŸ™‚ ❀

    Like

  8. I love reading garden posts like this. Full of fun, productivity and action towards the harvest in the future. That’s what it’s all about. Enriching your life with your choices rather than making poor life choices that will come back to bite you. We share a common love of gardening and funny photo moments Sue. I filmed Earl on the table the other day. The little bugger hopped onto Steve’s chair when he vacated it (almost immediately) and straight up onto the table whereby he sniffed all of my seeds that I collected and am drying out to save (and found them wanting I might add), wandered around and checked out all of our mugs and plates to see if there was anything worth eating (again, nothing in his honest opinion) and then realised that he was going to have to lay the jam on pretty thickly with ‘ma’ as she was watching his progression across the kitchen table with ‘that’ look in her eye so he walked over to where I was filming and mugged at the camera. We put it on Youtube and he is as proud as punch to be on the table and now famous. He wants his bone privileges back! πŸ˜‰ Here’s the link to the video if you would like to watch it…

    He is a very naughty boy!

    Like

    • Haha… I checked out both video’s Fran.. and that look said it all.. also loved his skill at balloon bursting πŸ™‚ Glad you enjoyed the pictures.. we had fun taking them.. And laughter echoes often throughout the allotments.. πŸ™‚ as I am sure it does in Narnia πŸ™‚
      I bet you will be keeping a closer eye of earls eating habits from now on.. since his vet ordeal… ❀ Big hugs and much love.. xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Sounds like lots of maintenance going around those allotments πŸ˜€ Those cabbages need covering up! Hope they are comfortable and no one pecks at them from beneath the covers….sometimes you just never know. I had to smile at your attempt to selfie. It is a very good effort and that shot of you and hubby at the end is lovely. Haha, missed the first attempt by a long mile! The self timer does come in handy and I’ve used it quite a few times myself for selfies. Running into position is always the hardest part, and also the most fun. Just be careful not to trip πŸ˜€ ❀

    Like

    • Yes.. Mabel.. Lots of maintenance.. And later when they grow larger those small cloches will be replaced with larger ones.. As then its not the pigeons but the cabbage white butterflies who lay eggs.. And an army of tiny caterpillars do a lot of munching LOL .. Yes lol.. 10 seconds is a long time really.. but when you have to do an obstacle course lol.. it needed practice haha.. And Thank you.. I will be careful. LOL.. πŸ™‚ Thank you again Mabel.. for visiting both sites.. Your comments and visits are very much appreciated.. Big Hugs xxx ❀ xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Hey Sue πŸ™‚

    A beautiful day here in Wales inspired me out the front door and off for a wander. A few minutes later and here I was, chuckling like a crow on a swinging gate as I sat reading your post.

    Indeed I asked for action shots and that’s exactly what you delivered. lol πŸ™‚ I stand corrected in my assessment, you have dug for Derbyshire there Sue, the pumpkin patch restored to former glory. I do like the outfit, and I would have dressed similarly, perhaps even donning a pair of sunglasses for disguise! πŸ™‚ The last three photos were excellent….the laughter present in every facet. So pleased you made it around the Loganberry Bush and set pose for the shutter. The smile on your faces seems to tell me everything about how much you enjoy it there and the love you both share together. Perfect πŸ™‚

    I know how the allotment sometimes leaves you aching, but I have to say Sue, that whenever I read your posts regarding your labour of love, I sense the most sincere attachment to both earth and duty. You flow into ‘her’ as she flows into you. There is no separation, only woman and nature in harmony.

    Please don’t lose the shed…it has an antiquated rustic charm all of it’s own. I like it scruffy, used, lived in, weathered, and held together by string and a prayer. Or maybe that’s just the tramp in me taking over and talking out loud, again πŸ™‚

    You’ll be anticipating a bumper crop this year Sue, apples included I hope. Just let me know if you need hands on deck come harvest time and I’ll send the Scarecrows. I heard their rather good at gathering.

    Well late is the hour and I’ll leave you to unwind on this balmy spring evening and wish you well for the remainder of the weekend.

    As always my friend, take good care of you, and of one and all. Warmest best wishes and brightest blessings. Nos da.

    Namaste πŸ™‚

    DN

    Like

            • Aww, everyday is a special day for you when sunshine waits to be collected at the school gates. You are heavenly blessed πŸ™‚

              I’ve never been met at the school gates. I waited once but no one ever showed. I recall a time aged 5 missing the school bus home and walking the 10 miles back on my own…perhaps that was the start of my errant ways? πŸ™‚

              Have a wonderful evening Sue in the company of an little angel.

              Namaste πŸ™‚

              DN

              Liked by 1 person

            • That’s sad… And age 5 far too young to walk 10 miles alone.. . Enjoy your brew.. πŸ™‚ and I see I have a new poem on Ravens 12 awaiting to read too.. So look forward to that later this evening.. πŸ™‚

              Liked by 1 person

            • Thanks Sue. All Snow Leopard cubs are pushed from the den early in life…it’s Nature’s way…survival of the fittest. I’m still here and happily still roaming, soon to be heading uphill and beyond the cloud-line once again.

              Raven’s 12 will catch ya later alligator should you wander by. (Don’t forget the chocolate Hobnobs πŸ™‚ )

              Namaste πŸ™‚

              DN

              Liked by 1 person

    • Glad those action shots did not disappoint Dewin.. πŸ™‚ Big Smiles.. That first shed was built with old doors and yes is held together most probably with string and paper πŸ™‚ It was resting on old wooden pallets.. which rotted one side.. Giving a whole new meaning to a ‘Lean-to-Shed’ πŸ™‚ tarpaulin is on its roof. It houses only the cloches, wire frames and plastic hose.. And we have promised ourselves one long fine day to combine it into the Summer house.. Which is the one on the left.. The Lean too shed can better be seen Here Dewin.. https://dreamwalkergarden.wordpress.com/2016/05/16/may-time-in-the-allotments/ before the building of the NEW Shed which we bought from an allotment gardener who gave up his plot a couple of plots away from ours.. Enjoy.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Sue,

        The action shots made the post enchanting Sue πŸ™‚ ‘Lean-to’ is a delightful name for an assemblage of accumulated parts, tarpaulin and doorways that lead nowhere and yet open everywhere (I am reminded of the Russell Hoban, David Anderson surreal Animation, ‘Door’ : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Skl-c2PMmOI )

        Very pleased to hear the old shed will live on in new guise as part of the Summer house πŸ™‚ The allotment appears to be becoming very much a home away from home. And I know you love there, so all good.

        Kettles boiled, my brew is made, and I shall head to the shed overleaf lol πŸ™‚

        Enjoy your afternoon and evening. Take care of one and all.

        Namaste πŸ™‚

        DN

        Liked by 1 person

Your Thoughts Are Welcome Along with any Gardening Tips

