Veggie Update .

As you can see the sweetcorn is growing taller and each one looks to have a number of cobs on them. So looks like a better  year for us this year.  Hover your cursor  over the pictures to reveal the titles, and click to enlarge to take to slide show in Galleries. 

Me in among the Sweetcorn those are the Butternut Squash in front.

 

My daughter made these the other day and sent me a photo of what she had made from the produce of our Allotment  garden .. Happy smiles..

 

Next to be revealed  is my Knitting, it is already completed, Until next Time 

Happy Gardening !

 

89 thoughts on “Veggie Update .

  1. An absolute joy to visit your garden and you Sue. There is such serenity in nature’s bounty. I have grown some watermelon in my back yard…yes I really have…lol! I wasn’t sure they would grow but sure enough I have some small watermelons, so cute! Enjoy your Saturday sweet lady, have a most beautiful day. BTW, looks like your daughter is a fine cook. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Your gardens looks so great, Sue 🙂
    I see, that you need to have a big freezer to store many vegetables until harvest next year. The best of all must be, that everything are ecological grown.
    Take care and enjoy your weekend, dear friend ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  3. “The corn is as high as an elephants eye…it looks like it’s climbing right up to the sky…OH what a beautiful morning…(etc…)”. Amazing! I have no luck at all with corn. If I manage to grow it, it gets infested with earwigs or something else that wants to eat it so I no longer grow it. Your allotment is spectacular, productive and entirely satisfying to see from the other side of the world where everything is damp, cold and asleep. Guess who has learned to spin and is actually knitting mitre squares! Once I can actually produce yarn that is pretty even I will have to send you some to turn into something beautiful. I am amassing a wealth of fleeces at the moment as once I get going in earnest, I don’t want to have to stop! I plyed/plied (not sure of the spelling) some old yarn that I got on a set of bobbins with my spinning wheel (second hand a couple of years ago) and it ended up like that waxed string. People told me to toss it out (as it must have been prehistoric 😉 ) but ever the thrifty minx (tightwad) that I am, I couldn’t bear to toss it so I practiced plying on it and made proper yarn so when the time comes to ply my own yarn, I should be old hat at it and not stuff it up. My first attempt at plying turned out frizzy as I was tensioning it too tightly so whew on practicing on my “garden string”! Anyhoo, I won’t fill you page up with my comment, needless to say I am MOST excited about spinning and knitting my own yarn 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh wow, I can feel you are buzzing with excitement Fran. And can so understand why.. Nothing more satisfying that to create something from the raw materials into the finished product that the elite would pay hundreds of pounds/Dollars for, hand made from scratch.. To have an unique piece no one else would have..
      I am just in the process here of uploading my photo’s of my own finished Cardigan.. And already it got a compliment from someone who saw me wearing it, It has to be the most simplest of designs I have ever knitted.. I tried a bit of Crocheting too, and managed not to mess it up.. I did a sort of scallop edging around the neck edge, sleeves and hem.. The pattern only calls for one button.. So I splashed out and bought a really nice one, that fits the look of it.. Tell me what you think when you see the post, 🙂 which will be my next one to blog.. My hubby and you would get on like a house on fire too.. He dislikes throwing anything away.. Saying it will come in handy some day.. lol. we have a Garage full of handy things, waiting to come in handy lol 🙂
      I am loving that you are Loving your Spinning Fran.. Enjoy.. I am sure Brunhilda is great company while doing such things.. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I just picked up 2 more wheels! I went on a sight that we have here called “Gumtree” where people can sell and buy things. It is free to advertise and on a whim I entered the query “spinning” as I was looking for more fleece but saw 2 spinning wheels going for $35 each (that’s about fifteen pounds each) and one of them was a traveler upright which is smaller and easier to transport and takes up less room than a normal wheel. They are both ancient and were owned by a lovely elderly lady who has given it up and wanted to get some spending money for her and her equally lovely elderly husbands upcoming trip so it was lovely to know that they are both going to a good home. They need a bit of TLC but for the price, and I got a tonne of accessories with them that cost a fair bit of money, I think I got a serious bargain. I can take the traveler upright to spinning group with me in the car as it will be a lot easier to transport (and I won’t have to turn it sideways!) Steve also bought me some gorgeous alpaca fleeces for my birthday as well as some mohair and some really lovely hand spun, naturally dyed (madder so red) yarn so I am SO excited! I will be picking it up today. I can’t wait to see your cardigan Sue. I have suddenly switched on to knitting. The lady that is teaching me to spin is also a knitter and is always wearing another one of her glorious home spun knits whenever I visit her house. It makes me want to get knitting and make Steve a jumper as well. She says it can be as simple or as hard as you want it to be and has a lovely simple jumper pattern that she is going to give me that is pretty much just rectangles and stitches picked up for sleeves. I think I will jump straight in (after my mitre square success) and make Steve a jumper. Even if its HUGE at least it will be warm 😉 You are right about Brunhilda. There is something eminently satisfying and primal about spinning fleece in front of a wood stove. I feel an instant link to my ancient relatives who I am sure would have done this as both of my grandmothers were from the north of the UK. My gran was from Oldham Lancs. and my Nana was from Bolton so a stones through away from each other. I have it in my blood 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • Oh wow.. what a bargain.. Sounds just what you need.. And I smile as the Universe heard a call and delivered lol..
          Yes I have to put the post together.. Had my granddaughter over for a couple of days and we took her out yesterday.. Hubby took a nasty fall while we were out.. He is putting a brave face on, but he hurt himself really badly.. No broken bones.. Thank goodness.. But he grazed himself and really bruised his ribs and hip.. So he has been hobbling today wincing each time he moves.. So things were put on hold a bit for my blog..
          But as it given rain for tomorrow.. I will find time to put it together on here..
          I remember my first ever jumper I knitted for my hubby.. somehow I never measured the length of his sleeves, following faithfully the pattern and rows.. When I had sewn it all together the sleeves were huge and hung about six inches below his hands.. We laughed.. He never wore it.. And it got unpicked and re-knitted up as school cardigans for my children.. as it was in navy blue..
          I remember also unravelling a knitted pullover my gran had made my granddad.. and I reworked it into a jumper for myself..
          The wool was curly after unravelling.. I tied it into hanks and washed and hung it to dry.. It knitted up as good as new.. 🙂 I am sure it is in your blood Fran.. I bet your gran did a lot of knitting too 🙂 It was what they did.. 😀

          Liked by 1 person

          • I can’t remember my gran or mum knitting. My Aunty margaret was a brilliant knitter who sold what she knitted and had knitting machines and made clothes to order as a business. I was a little intimidated by that to say the least! I prefer the homespun look. If I want a jumper that is perfect I will buy one. I am most excited about kitting we old hippies out in attire that will suit our ethos 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

            • Yes I was never keen on the knitting machines, My husband came across one and brought it home for me with all the patterns and gadgets that went with it.. It never got used.. And it ended up being given away.. There is something far more satisfying, spinning and using but two needles to create a garment.. Right I must load up those photos to apost now lol xxx

              Liked by 1 person

            • I forgot to mention “ouch!” to my last comment for your poor husband. Steve is helping a friend fix a floor for an elderly friend and his friend slipped over on a recent trip away for a weekend to a holiday shack and did almost exactly the same thing. He hurt his shoulder and wrist/palm when he fell. Give my commiserations to your poor husband.

              Liked by 1 person

            • Awww thanks Fran.. Yes he is still suffering, now the bruising is coming out.. His palms have healed a little, his shoulder and ribs still sore.. And a bruise the size of a dinner plate on his hip.. Big Ouch to Steves friend too.. We do not bounce as well when we get older.. 😉 xxx

              Liked by 1 person

            • Exactly Fran.. I remember my Gran once saying to me when she reached 80, you still feel 18 at heart.. The Sun is out today..
              I just popped on here and will catch up more later.. I was thinking if I could perhaps copy the pages onto a my scanner of the knitting pattern and send them by email. would that work? I don’t know I guess till I try and see if it would be large enough to read.. I will have a go over the weekend..
              Made home made Tomato Soup today, Blackberry and Apple pie.. The blackberries are huge .. And the Dahlias are going nuts,, Given loads away on our street.. Lots of happy smiles 🙂 Ok off out to enjoy some Sun before we get more rain.. As I need to dead head around the borders. Love and Hugs xxx

              Liked by 1 person

            • I love that you and your husband have such a close tie with your allotment. It’s not just a “garden” its your means to fresh healthy vegetables and flowers for you, your family and your community. Now that’s what I call a garden! I think the scanning thing could work. If so, that would be amazing. I have plyed (plied not sure how to spell that!) a lot of hand spun and want to get knitting it up. I may as well kill two birds with one stone and learn to spin and learn to knit at the same time (multitasking 😉 ). Just the mention of the word “blackberries” makes me twitch but then I have a lot of wild ones attempting to take over the fort at any given time. I don’t use poison and so I just have to keep hacking them down when they come up each year. If I don’t get on top of them they take over in short shift and the birds eat the berries and spread them further. That homemade tomato soup sounds lovely. Do you ever put lentils or chickpeas in it? We are eating a lot more chickpeas now as Steve actually really likes them so they go into a lot of our meals. I blended some up (a can of them with the liquid) the other day as the basis for some veggie tartlets that I made Steve for his lunch. They worked really well. My mum always said the same thing. “You feel young but you look in the mirror and think “who is that old person!””

              Liked by 1 person

            • Lol. yes, some mornings looking in the mirror is a total Shock!!! 🤓🤣 LOL.. 🙂 and Will attempt to scan and send you later today Fran.. and chickpeas a good base.. My blender I used this morning has decided it has sprung a leak.. the rubber ring is obviously not water tight.. I had a right old mess to clear up this morning on my worktop as I made a beetroot smoothie with apple juice.. You can imagine.. I tipped over a carton of tomatoes I had balancing on the bread-maker, stood back and squashed one into the kitchen floor.. The day can only get better.. 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

  4. I love your Garden of Eden! Your corn is keeping up with our local farmers corn by the looks of it so you must be doing something right. i look forward to seekng your knitting as well. I was going to return to mine since its cooling down a bit again but its patterned with cables and lace and I don’t want to start then stop again when the humidity returns. I might wait till the end of August:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes I even surprised ME too when I started my knitting project in Summer.. I usually set aside for winter.. But I quite enjoyed sitting in the garden under the shade umbrella and because I had simplified the pattern to just plain knit.. Didn’t have to tax my brain following a pattern just the measurements and then the increasing on the sleeves.. Cable I have done on a small scale.. I knitted cable into a pair of finger-less gloves .. Not bad once you get the hang of it.. I would need to concentrate and not be bothered by the heat though to concentrate as you say. for a larger piece of work.. Good too see you Linda.. And will be doing my rounds shortly xx

      Liked by 1 person

  5. The sweetcorn does look like they are growing and reaching for the sky. Love your smile as you posed among them…maybe soon they will be taller than you. Maybe they want to be taller than you and show you how high they can go 😀 Also lovely to see all the other veggies up and coming too. Such a cute buttersquash forming on the ground. It looks so happy to see the sun 🙂 Happy planting, Sue. Looking forward to the next update. It looks like a party in your allotments ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sue, it’s a truly beautiful vegetable garden. I can almost smell the veggies growing. Thanks for showing the pics of the prepared results. The shredded beets and apple looks pretty and delicious. I should try that some time.
    Have a marvelous Monday. Hugs on the wing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lovely to have you walk among the veggies dear Teagan.. And yes my daughter is a whizz at making veggie recipes.. .. So happy that you enjoyed.. And I loved having you xxx ❤ Hugs right back with Big smiles xxx on Wings xx

      Liked by 1 person

  7. That garden looks great Sue. The grass keeps trying to take over our garden. Pulling grass and weeds always causes me back problems. Glad your many many hours of hard work are paying off.

    Like

  8. Was in your garden, friend Sue … so enjoyed … My garden got battered by deer and moose and 2 hail storms so far this year … All I have left is my root plants … potatoes, carrots, beets and radishes … and, hey, speaking of radish … did you know that you can boil them? Add some butter and they taste just like new potatoes 🙂 Anyway, much love always, cat.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Dear Sue,
    I’m not doing much commenting on blogs these days (I found myself overwhelmed), but I did so want to pop by and leave you a comment. I’ve been keeping up with your gardening and also the latest knitting post – wonderful. Your veggies look fabulous in this post. I hope that you’re doing well and I send you lots of love! Ruth xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Ruth, so lovely to see you, and I can so understand the ‘overwhelmed’ as I often feel like that too, and I am in full health, So I know the effort it must take when one is not feeling well..
      It is lovely that you have caught up with me again and I hope to repay the visit to you over the next few days once I am all caught up here.. As I have not been on line for a few days, as I have been enjoying our Granddaughter..
      Love and warm well wishes and lots of Love to you Ruth. Love Sue xxx ❤

      Like

Your Thoughts Are Welcome Along with any Gardening Tips

